top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAdrienne Dellwo

The Good Fight--With a Noir Twist!

Updated: Jun 3, 2019



My newest short story, "The Deepest Part of Shadow," is about to come out!

I'm stoked for this one. It's set in 1925--an era that I adore--and I resurrected a few of my all-time favorite characters from a role-playing game for it. I created two of them and my husband created the third.

"The Deepest Part of Shadow" is about Mamie Aarons, a flapper with the secret ability to sense a strange supernatural creature called the Adumbral. Michael McCormick is a handyman on Mamie's college campus and they quickly discover a shared love of hooch.

Before long, Michael starts displaying an ability to show up just when Mamie needs him, and then he takes her to meet Nigel Cottington, a mysterious man who wants to draw her into a mystical organization that needs her power.

I especially love that, with its crossover into the supernatural, this one is darker than my other superhero tales. I have big ideas for where things could go with the Adumbral. In fact, I came up with this race of creature several years ago for a contemporary story that I haven't yet written, and I decided this anthology was the place to kick it off.

"The Deepest Part of Shadow" is part of the anthology The Good Fight 5: The Golden Age. All these pre-World-War-II stories are by members of The Pen & Cape Society. It officially came out on April 29.

I also have a story in The Good Fight 4: The Homefront. That one is called "Impulses" and is a tie-in with Hero Academy.


55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Informational Passage

7th grade reading level Yellowstone: Old Faithful and the Hotspot Yellowstone National Park is a strange and unique area. The park mostly falls within the western state of Wyoming. However, small part

Paired Passages

8th grade reading level Myth synopsis and modern narrative with the same theme Qaydafeh and Sekandar The story of Qaydafeh and Sekandar comes from a tenth-century epic poem by Abolqasem Ferdowski. It

Author Interview: Ian Thomas Healy

Ian Thomas Healy is the creator and publisher of the Just Cause Universe, a shared superhero world that includes 21 books so far with several more in the works, including my two published contribution

bottom of page